Prayer warriors, activate!

Standard
We’re closing in on take off day and I want to send the itinerary and some details of the trip, so you can be praying. Thank you all for your support through helping with fundraisers, donating supplies, giving money, and lifting up needs in prayer. It all means so much and I’m excited to include you all in this mission to love and serve.

Thursday – Fly Sioux Falls to Denver to DC

Friday morning – Fly out of DC

Saturday morning – Arrive in Ethiopia

Saturday afternoon – Fly Ethiopia to Rwanda

Saturday remainder – Get settled in

Sunday – New Covenant Church (All morning African style!) Genocide Memorial, Prep for the week

Monday, Tues, Wed, Thursday – With the Kids!

Mornings at the Preschool
Afternoon at the Primary School
Evenings with the Secondary/Older Kids

Thur Afternoon thru Friday Morning – Debrief at Akagera National Park

Friday ALL DAY – Fly Rwanda through Dublin to DC

Saturday morning – Arrive in DC

Saturday afternoon – Fly DC to Denver to Sioux Falls
Saturday evening – Arrive in SF

Our focus this trip is to let these kids know they are LOVED. They do not have have anyone telling them they are loved everyday like you and I, and our children. We want them to know they have have a Father that loves them, and that will NEVER change. So our lessons and activities are centered around these three things, God is Love (1 John 3:1,) You are Loved (Romans 8:39,) and You are Called to Love (1 Corinthians 13:4-8.) Please pray that God speaks that loudly and this message is understood deeply in the hearts of the kids.

I also have the privilege to lead worship for my team and all the kids while we travel. I was graciously given a guitar to bring with the intent to leave it there as a blessing with someone who will use it for God’s glory after we’re gone. I did this two years ago and gave the guitar to a young man at New Covenant Church. I am praying for God to lead me to the individual in who’s heart He is working in to be a leader in His kingdom.

We will also be talking about hygiene and interview skills with some of the older kids who are graduating in December and will be either applying for jobs or further education. I am bringing 25 Days for Girls kits, and am proud to be able to do so. Days for Girls is a great organization.

Of course we have lots of fun things planned as well, including a movie and popcorn night at the Sparrows Nest, and a dance party night with glow in the dark bracelets and balloons! I cannot wait to see our sponsor son, Musa (and all the others) again and see how they have grown the last two years, and how their lives have changed! I am honored to be bringing with me Alan, a gentleman from my small group at church, and a gift to hand deliver to a little boy from their sponsor, who is a friend of mine. It is exciting to see others around me join in on the mission of Imana Kids and change the world of an orphan on the other side of the world. Maybe one of you will travel with me next time!?

Thank you for your prayers! Please feel free to pass this on to anyone else I missed who you feel would commit to praying for our team. If I can update in country I will. If not, I will send a follow-up email after I return. And I pray that you see God’s goodness all around you in this crazy time in the world. God is still good!
Leave a Reply

