By Faith

Standard

So… I wrote a facebook post just a bit ago… “It is times like this that those day to day disciplines of the faith prepare us for… So that we’re not shaken. #considermeshaken #sorryitsvague”

Let me back up a bit and explain as much as I’m able, about why I’d post something like that this morning. It has been a rough week month or more for me health wise, I’m nearing the end of my prednisone script though and I’m sure better days are to come. It has been a rough week year for Craig at work. But especially this week, his life being threatened by a guy he had a hand in firing, and being given three weeks notice of a demotion. You see, we’re looking for new work for Craig and since the company now knows that, they’re taking steps to prepare for that. Understandable, yes. But we do not know how long it will take for us to find new work for Craig and so, until that time, we’re going to have less income than we did before with which wasn’t quite cutting it.

So, you see: “It is times like this that those day to day disciplines of the faith prepare us for… So that we’re not shaken. #considermeshaken #sorryitsvague” was how I was feeling this morning. And on this Saturday morning, as Craig is out working, he kindly made arrangements for Liv to go somewhere (and Eddy too, but he’s sleeping, so he’s home with me). So I posted that on facebook from my phone and knew my next step was either to get back on my computer and find more jobs to apply for, or read my bible. (I read my bible on my phone now, which I love, because it has a reading plan that it reminds me to read and is super handy.) But, I haven’t read in 19 days. Which is why, in times like this, that I am shaken. So, my choice, look for jobs, aka: solve this problem on my own, or read my bible, aka: put my hope in more than myself. Today I picked read. And this was my reading for today:

Hebrews 11, By Faith

11 Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. For by it the people of old received their commendation. By faith we understand that the universe was created by the word of God, so that what is seen was not made out of things that are visible.

And it is paragraph after paragraph of “By faith, Abel… By faith, Abraham… By faith, Moses…” etc

Last time I read my reading plan, I was in Acts, so I didn’t know what I’d be opening up to today. But I decided to chose time in God’s hope-filled word instead of my own desperate search. And God met me. He’s real peeps. That is one way He encourages us, it is just as though I heard Him say “Have Faith my child! Don’t lose your faith in Me.”

Now I will probably still be online searching for jobs later, but I will be doing it with a different mindset, knowing God is participating in this event in our lives and it is only with my faith in God, that I will choose to participate, choose what is right and choose to believe truth.

Thanks for letting me share my encounter with the living God with you this morning.

 

Leave a Reply

