MidWeekCooking – Lo Mein Noodles

Standard

I signed up to bring noodles to small group last week for our group meal. These noodles needed to got with Orange Beef & Chicken. We eat a lot of american food in this house (though we could probably benefit from widening our options.) So I haven’t made a lot of meals that include asian noodles. I looked up a recipe that looked like something I could accomplish with ingredients I would have or use the rest of. The following is what I found and they turned out GREAT! Super easy and totally yummy.

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/rachael-ray/no-pain-lo-mein-recipe/index.html

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons (2 turns around the pan in a slow drizzle) vegetable or wok oil
  • 1 cup (2 handfuls) snow peas, halved on a diagonal (I didn’t use these)
  • red bell pepper, seeded and cut into match stick size pieces (I used green b/c they’re cheaper)
  • 1/2 pound assorted mushrooms (shiitake, straw, enoki, or oyster), coarsely chopped, if necessary (I didn’t use these)
  • 4 scallions, thinly sliced on a diagonal (I just used 1/2 a regular onion)
  • 2 cups (about 4 handfuls) fresh bean spouts (I couldn’t find any of these in the stores I was at)
  • 2 inches fresh ginger root, minced or grated with hand grater (I just used my ginger from the spice rack)
  • cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 pound lo mein noodles or thin spaghetti, cooked to al dente and drained well (I used thin spaghetti)
  • 1/2 cup aged tamari soy sauce (I used Kikkoman)
  • 1 tablespoon toasted sesame oil, several drops

Directions

Heat a wok-shaped skillet or large non-stick skillet over high heat. When pan is very hot, add oil, (it will smoke a bit) then, immediately add the snow peas, pepper, mushroomsscallions, and bean sprouts.Stir fry for 1 minute to flavor the oil, then add the ginger and garlic, and stir-fry 2 minutes. Add the cooked noodles and toss with to combine. Add the soy sauce and toss the ingredients to coat noodles evenly with sauce. Transfer the lo mein to a serving platter and garnish with a drizzle of toasted sesame oil.

I made 2lbs for 10 adults and 4 kids, and they all loved it, but I still had a lot of leftovers.

2 thoughts on “MidWeekCooking – Lo Mein Noodles

  1. Tiffany

    I just stumbled across your blog via pintrest. I love how you cook! I am all about taking something fancy and making it work for you. We are having your noodles with dinner tonight. :)

Leave a Reply

