Mid-Week Cooking – Baby Granola Bars

Standard

The idea and direction for these came from our trusty cookie recipe friend Kiley. Some of the suggested ingredients weren’t in my budget, so I made substitutions, but if you have them or can afford them, use them! Liv likes these so much that I will be looking for good deals on nuts, seeds, and coconut oil! :) I’ve made them twice. The first time I made a half batch to make sure she liked them, and they were a hit, so today I made a second batch. The first batch were in a 9×9 and thicker, and a little too gooey. This time I made the full 11 x 17 and they are thinner and a good consistency. I need to grease the pan better next time so they come out a little better though!

Baby Granola Bars

4 eggs
1 cup oatmeal
¼ cup ground flax seeds
I also added ¼ cup wheat germ, why not, since I had it?!
1 cup nuts and seeds of choice (She likes to do a combo of almonds, walnuts, sunflower seeds, and pumpkin seeds. I used 1 cup of Kashi’s Honey Almond Flax cereal.)
1 banana
1 cup canned pumpkin
1 zucchini or 1 apple (I used an apple, b/c I had one)
1/3  cup coconut oil (I don’t have any coconut oil, so I used ¼ cup vegetable oil. But I hear good things about coconut oil and will be watching for a good price on some.)
1 T cinnamon
2 t vanilla
¼ – 1 cup water, depending on if you want them more on the crumbly “muffin” side or more on the doughy, fudgy side. (I used ¼ cup.)
optional: for older babies: a bit of honey for sweetness, but Liv seems to like them fine w/o!
Blend all ingredients in a blender or food processor until smooth. Bake at 375 for approx 45 minutes, or until done.  Cut into bars and store in the freezer.  Just stick one in the micro when it’s time for breakfast or a snack!
I think I love these as much as Liv, not to eat, but I love that I don’t have to feel bad about her having them because they’re good for her! Enjoy!
2 thoughts on “Mid-Week Cooking – Baby Granola Bars

Leave a Reply

