Mid-Week Cooking

Standard

We had a great food week this past week! It seems that I go in spurts. Last week was a good food week, this week not so much. I’m not going to be hard on myself, only try to be better.

Monday, we had Kabobs! Green peppers were a special at ALDI again, 3/$0.99, so we’re having fajitas and kabobs again! No complaints, just going by the sales!

Tuesday, we had Turkey Roast & Mashed Potatoes
This is probably the epitome of bad for you food, seeing as it is a log of processed turkey… but I grew up eating it,  hadn’t had it since, and wanted to make it!?

Tuesday Night (for Liv & I) and Wednesday for all of us, Tuna Noodle Casserole, from allrecipies.com, a slightly different recipe than the last time I made it. It looks like I also made Tuna Noodle Casserole once in April and in May. I see a pattern here.

Tuna Noodle Casserole
Ingredients
1 (12 ounce) package egg noodles
1/4 cup chopped onion
2 cups shredded Cheddar cheese
1 cup frozen green peas
2 (6 ounce) cans tuna, drained
2 (10.75 ounce) cans condensed cream of mushroom soup
1/2 (4.5 ounce) can sliced mushrooms (left out because I didn’t have any)
1 cup crushed potato chips

Directions

  1. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook pasta in boiling water for 8 to 10 minutes, or until al dente; drain.
  2. Preheat oven to 425 degrees F (220 degrees C).
  3. In a large bowl, thoroughly mix noodles, onion, 1 cup cheese, peas, tuna, soup and mushrooms. Transfer to a 9×13 inch baking dish, and top with potato chip crumbs and remaining 1 cup cheese.
  4. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes in the preheated oven, or until cheese is bubbly
Note: It seemed a touch dry, next time I may do some adjusting. 
I also made Chicken Olé, a Seydel treat. I got the recipe from Craig’s Mom and it looks as though she got it from a local cookbook. It is easy, and really yummy! Unfortunately, this time we didn’t get to eat it as I took it to a mommy of a new baby!

Chicken Olé
Ingredients
12 tortillas, cut into 6 or 8 pieces each
4 c. coarsely chopped cooked chicken or turkey
10 ¾ oz. can condensed cream of chicken soup
10 ¾ oz. can condensed cream of mushroom soup
7 oz. can green chile salsa (we don’t usually include this)
1 c. dairy sour cream
1 T. grated onion
1 ½ c. grated cheddar cheese

Directions
Lightly grease sides and bottom of slow cooking pot. Arrange alternate layers of tortillas with chicken and mixture of undiluted soups, salsa, sour cream and onion. Cover and cook on low 4 to 5 hours. Sprinkle cheese and cook on low another 15 to 20 minutes. Makes 8 servings. Note: Craig likes to put cheese in the mixture of soups, etc as well as on top.

I also was successful at making yogurt! Third time was the charm for me?! Good thing it only cost me $3.50 for all my attempts, good and bad.

2 thoughts on “Mid-Week Cooking

    • leahseydel

      I am guessing the first time I let it get too hot, and the second time I was nervous and didn’t let it get hot enough. I did get a different thermometer too. I let it sit wrapped in the towel a full 12 hours too. I heard you’re not supposed to add in the “starter” yogurt until it gets down to 120 degrees and then should keep it there for 8 hours… maybe I’ll pay more attention to that next time. I’m happy though!

Leave a Reply

