Mid-Week Cooking – Cake Pops Edition

Standard

Whether you have leftover cake from carving a cake, or just want to make these great treats for fun, it is definitely something to try. They were a HIT, especially with the kids… (and my husband.) They have been mainstreamed lately by Starbucks when they started selling them, but have been around for a few years now. I first saw them one year ago on a blog I follow. She and others got the idea from the website Bakerella. While I was in Kansas City, I actually got to look through Bakerella’s book Cake Pops at Paper Source. Here’s a simple video of how you make them. But I’ll put how I did it here as well.

My friend Brooke first suggested I make cake pops with the all cake I cut off while carving. I was going to do that, but then realized that would mean I was doing it right before the party and that wasn’t going to happen!

So, I baked a separate cake and made these ahead of time. Since it was a white cake, I decided to offer another, more chocolate-y option. : ) First thing to do is crumble up the cake after it has cooled. Then mix in 3/4 can of frosting and stir until evenly combined. Then roll that into balls and put in the freezer for 15 minutes. I suggest not making the balls TOO large as they get heavy for the stick.

Then put them in the refrigerator. I added a step I saw in the Cake Pops book that isn’t in the video posted above. That is to dip the stick into the coating before sticking it in the ball and then chilling it. Helping to secure it.

After chilling again, allowing the coating to harden, take them out a few at a time to dip into the coating, sticking in a styrofoam block to harden. (Pre-poking those holes makes it easier! This would be nice if you’re going to make them often!) I also want to show my failures as to not portray myself better than I am.

I had some difficulty with my coating because I bought the wrong thing. You’re supposed to use candy coating or bark. I bought white chocolate baking squares… and it didn’t really harden, hence the flops. So I added some paraffin, paramont crystals actually, and that helped, but still not quite right I don’t think.

I didn’t get a good picture of these at the party, darn it, but you get the idea. I had planned on dropping some colored frosting across the tops of the cake pops, but didn’t have time. I did made little tags for them though!

2 thoughts on “Mid-Week Cooking – Cake Pops Edition

Leave a Reply

