Mid-Week Cooking

Standard

Tuna Noodle Casserole

Ingredients:
2 (10.75 ounce) cans Cream of Mushroom Soup (I used one large can)
1 cup milk
2 cups frozen peas
3 cans tuna, drained
4 cups hot cooked medium egg noodles (I didn’t have enough egg noodles, so I mixed in some elbow macaroni too)
1/2 a bag of french fried onions

Directions:
Stir soup, milk, peas, tuna and noodles in 3-quart casserole.
Bake at 400 degrees F for 30 minutes.
Sprinkle french fried onions over tuna mixture. Bake for 10 minutes more.

Homemade Crockpot Yogurt

I got this recipe from my trusty sister-in-law. I tried this recipe Tuesday, but forgot to turn off the crock-pot before I left the house and ruined that batch. Tried it again yesterday, and I’m not sure if it turned out yet or not, I’m hoping it thickens in the fridge. It worked for her though, so if this batch doesn’t work, I will try again. Yogurt has gotten too expensive lately.

The Process
1.  Pour 1/2 gallon of milk into a crock-pot (I have been using whole milk)
2.  Cover and turn the crock pot to LOW
3.  Let the milk heat to 180 degrees.  This will take 2.5-3.25 hours.  I used an instant read thermometer (can be purchased for <$5)
4.  Once the milk has reached 180 degrees, turn off the crock pot.  Let the milk cool in the crock pot for 3 hours.
5.  Remove 1-2 cups of the milk and place into a bowl.  Whisk in 1/2 cup of plain unsweetened yogurt.  You can use your homemade yogurt as starter after your first batch is made.  Then add the milk/yogurt mixture back to the rest of the milk in the crock pot.  Stir and then replace the lid.
6.  Cover the entire crock pot with 1-2 towels.  Let set for 8-12 hours.
7.  Congratulations!  You just made YOGURT!!
One thought on “Mid-Week Cooking

Leave a Reply

