MSM – time spent, money saved

Standard

Thanks for the comment after last week’s MSM (Money Saving Monday) post Jennifer. Organizing coupons by expiration date is a great idea. I get pretty sad when I realize a coupon I wanted to use has expired! But I get so excited when I get a good one, that I don’t wait long to use it. But then sometimes I’ve used it too soon because later I could have paired it with a sale! Ah well. 

A while back, this question was asked, “how much time do you spend a week doing this stuff”

I think one could spend A LOT of time doing it all. This past week, I tried to pay attention, so I could answer this question accurately.

I spent 20 minutes looking through the ads of 5 stores that I get in the mail, making my list for price-matching. Making a list for shopping ahead of time definitely saves me time at the store!

I spent 2 hours (without baby) shopping at WalMart, Target, and a quick trip to Hobby Lobby.

I spent $23.18 at WalMart, but saved $8.49 through price-matching and 2 coupons. (Best deal I think from this trip was a $0.99 cantaloupe price matched from ALDI.)

I spent $29.69 at Target, but saved $8.83 by using 6 coupons. (Best deal this trip was getting 2 Right Guard deodorants for $1 each by combining a sale, with a store coupon and manufacturers coupon.)

It is hard to say exactly how much time I spend online checking out latest coupons, because I follow money saving blogs that let me know about coupons, and am checking that periodically throughout the day. Probably a couple hours / week if you add up all the random minutes?

But I think you can spend as little or as much as time as you want. Any amount of savings you can conjure up will help! I love handing over a $1 coupon, because that is $1 cash I get to keep in my envelope! Using cash has made using coupons more fun because I can literally see keeping a physical dollar and handing over a coupon instead. Pretty exciting. :) Using cash may be a separate future post.

So, here’s where you come in, how much time do you spend on money saving efforts? Or what do you do to save time on these efforts?

Leave a Reply

