Mid-Week Cooking

Standard

Here are a few recipes I’ve made since last week.

Quick and Easy Fruit Salad
From the 2011 Farmers National Company Family Cookbook, $7 – All proceeds go to their fundraising efforts for Relay for Life and the American Cancer Society. If you’d like to purchase one, let me know!

3 bananas
1 box frozen strawberries (I used 1 lb. fresh strawberries, quartered)
1 can peach pie filling, chopped up
1 large can mandarin oranges, drained
1 large can pineapple chunks, drained (I used one fresh pineapple, cut into small pieces)
*I also put in 1 1lb of green grapes

Mix fruits together with chopped pie filling and chill. Can be made a day ahead, just do not add bananas till ready to serve.

Beef Stroganoff
From the good ol’ Pocahontas Community Hospital Cookbook

2lbs beef stew meat
1 can mushrooms (could use 2 cans I think. I chopped them into smaller pieces. Could also use fresh.)
2 cans cream of mushroom soup
1 pkg Lipton Onion Soup
Sour Cream (to taste)
1 Tbsp Ketchup (I skipped this)
2 Tbsp Worcestershire
1/2 Tbsp vinegar (I accidently did 1 Tbsp)
Wide Egg Noodles

Put ingredients, except sour cream, in slow cooker for 8-10 hours. Add sour cream to taste. Serve over noodles.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

I use my friend Kiley’s Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe. She’s a great baker, you can trust her recipes. :) Like this recipe says, “you’ll never make another chocolate chip cookie recipe after trying this one.” And I haven’t! I make this recipe (except I use mini semi-sweet chocolate chips) and freeze it in balls that I can pop in for quick fresh baked cookies!

One thought on “Mid-Week Cooking

Leave a Reply

