Mid-Week Cooking Series: Chicken Enchiladas and Oatmeal Bread

Standard

This week has been already had a lot of cooking, and will have a lot more! My father-in-law is staying with us for almost a week and working on our basement project. (yay!) So, I have a list of meals just waiting to be made!

I made Chicken Enchiladas for my dear friends who recently had twins, Baby food for little Liv, Oatmeal Bread (my mother-in-law’s recipe, not sure where she got it), and Tuna Noodle Casserole. I will include recipes for the enchiladas and bread in case anyone is interested in trying these out. If you want to know what I do for baby food, just leave a comment and I’ll let ya know.

I put some enchilada in the food mill for Liv and she didn’t eat a lot of it, but didn’t detest it either, it was kinda spicy! Sweet potatoes are $0.33/lb at ALDI right now, so I got a bunch and made them (felt like it took all morning), along with butternut squash and apples for Liv. Thanks for your help Craig! I haven’t been feeling well (just a cold), but my energy has been low, so tackling all that baby food this morning was more than I could handle alone. Thank God for sweet husbands. Then I made bread for the first time by myself and it went pretty well for my first time I think!

It IS really nice when I’m eating something I can grind up and share with Liv. Just one less thing to prepare! I am not grinding up my #2 from McD’s though… or the mini Pizza from Target… which have also made it on my menu this week.

Chicken Enchiladas (no picture, sorry, didn’t think about it… next time)

2 cloves garlic, minced
2 cans enchilada sauce
1 can refried beans
salt & pepper
2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
2 cups rice (cooked)
2 cup mexican blend shredded cheese
10 – 8 inch flour tortillas

Directions
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Shredded Chicken
Add the minced garlic to the enchilada sauce in a deep skillet and heat to boiling. Generously sprinkle salt and pepper over the chicken breasts and then nestle the chicken breasts into the sauce. Reduce the heat to low, cover and cook until the chicken is cooked through, about 15-20 minutes. Remove the chicken from the sauce, set aside and let both the chicken and the sauce cool. [For Beef Enchiladas, I just make some ground beef with taco seasoning.]

Stir in the (cooked) rice.

Build the Enchiladas
Spread 2 tablespoon refried beans, 1/4 cup chicken/rice mix, and 1 tablespoon of cheese down the center of each flour tortilla. Roll up and place seam side down in two greased 13×9” baking dishes. Repeat until all tortillas are filled.  Top enchiladas with enchilada sauce and with the remaining cheese.

Cook
Place into the oven and bake uncovered for 20-25 minutes or until heated through and the cheese has melted.

Oatmeal Bread

(I would never attempt bread if I didn’t have a big KitchenAid mixer to do all the work.)
This makes 4 medium (I made 3) size loaves. Freezes well. I use unbleached flour and old fashioned oats (not the kind that cooks in one minute).

1/3 c. Oil
2/3 c. Honey
1 Tbsp Salt
1 3/4 c. Oatmeal

Combine above and add 3 c. boiling water. While this cools, combine 1/2 c. warm water and 2 Tbsp yeast. Add 3 c. flour (I used High Gluten Bread Flour) to first mixture then add yeast mixture. Add approximately 5 more cups of flour (I used 3 c. Fine Whole Wheat Flour and 2 c. Bread Flour) and knead. My 6 qt. KitchenAid mixer with dough hook kneads it well enough I don’t need to by hand at this step.

Spread some olive oil in a BIG bowl, plop the dough in the bowl, flip it over, so oily side is up and cover with a towel. Let rise for 1 hr or so. Punch down, knead a little and divide into loaves. Spread olive oil in loaf pans, place dough in pans and let rise again, approximately 30 minutes.

Bake 30 – 35 minutes at 350.

I did not shape the dough well... oops. One loaf also stuck to the pan. Oh well.

Leave a Reply

