Calling all Mom’s

Standard

My little sickie. She’s a trooper though. :)

Did you make your own baby food? Not judging if you didn’t, btw!

I am looking for some advice on how to transition to stage 3 foods… not exactly how, but what?! I know she’s ready for more foods, but I don’t know how to make bulk of the next stage in foods. I have liked doing a bunch of baby food at once, that lasts a few weeks. Is there a way to do that with the next stage? When I look at the jars of stage 3, there are things like: Chicken Noodle, Mixed Veggies w/ Turkey / Beef / Chicken, Broccoli & Carrots w/ Cheese, Lasagna, Spaghetti, Green Beans w/ Rice, Herbed Chicken w/ Pasta, Pasta Primavera, Turkey Rice w/ Veggies…

I don’t see Hamburger Helper or Totinos Party Pizzas on that list… or McD’s #2… yep, guilty!

Liv is almost 10 months old (!!!),and  crawling, but has no teeth and doesn’t quite have the pincher grasp thing down yet… suggestions? How did you do it?

2 thoughts on “Calling all Mom’s

  1. Amber Kmoch

    Hey Leah! You can take my suggestions as you wish – they sort of answer your question! :)

    Aaron is really being a poopy butt about baby food nowadays, so I have incorporated more table foods into his diet (he seems to really want to feed himself – and my opinion is why not encourage that independence, you know? It eases the frustration of both of us). With the suggestions and approval of our Dr. and the WIC dietician (since we get our baby foods through WIC), I’ll list below some things he is eating. As of last week, I am doing about 50/50 table food/baby food for every meal with him. He does have two bottom teeth, but I think Liv would be just fine eating the foods that I am feeding Aaron, even without teeth. He hasn’t perfected his pinscer grasp yet either, so I am putting some foods on a spoon for him, or just sticking it in his mouth myself (w/ my finger). Anyhow, here are some table foods I am offering:

    Breakfast: 1/2 piece of bread (without crust), clementine/orange in a mesh feeder (he LOVES sucking the juice!), pieces of pear, strawberry or banana, yogurt (plain or vanilla), sugar free applesauce

    Lunch & dinner: bread, saltines, any of the foods listed above, tofu, cottage cheese, well-cooked potatoes (mashed potatoes, tator tots, french fries, etc.), well-cooked veggies

    Snacks: Veggie Straws, Apple Straws (the kid LOVES these and they’re easy for him to hang on to), any of the food listed above

    I’m also adding oatmeal or baby meats to his regular baby food to make it thicker for him.

    So, like I said, you can take my suggestions as you wish (since I didn’t completely answer your question), but it sounds like Liv is in the same boat as Aaron: getting bored with the pureed baby food and wanting something more! :) Good luck!

  2. Rachael

    It sounds like she’s ready for soft table food. You should look into getting the book “Child of Mine.. Feeding With Love and Good Sense” by Ellyn Satter. I adore it.

    Do you have a food mill? You can find a munchkin one at Target for $10. This was a staple for the old baby months and we still use it sometimes. We just grind up what we are having for supper and then add water or milk or gravy or juice or whatever to make it the consistency we want. Ex: meat and veggies and potatoes/ rice in the grinder
    Casseroles
    Stir fry
    Beans and Rice
    All kinds of pastas and sauces
    Soups- homemade and even canned (chunky type w/ lots of veggies)

    The commercial stage 3 baby foods are not needed. By the time they are the age that they suggest them for, they are ready for soft table foods. Teeth aren’t needed for soft table foods.

    If you would like to make things ahead of time, just plan out your menus for the week and make enough for leftovers, grind them up and then freeze them in individual packages. But really, most of the time, she will soon, if not already, be able to eat whatever you are eating. Babies do not need special “toddler” food- this can lead to short order cooking for years to come and trust me you don’t want to go down that road!

    Obviously, I could go on forever- call me if you want to hear more! :) Good luck- I know figuring out what to feed your first baby can be confusing and intimidating!

Leave a Reply

