what I’m most thankful for this year

Standard

With this new platform to spew my thoughts, I thought I’d use it to share what I’m most thankful for this year. Last year at this point we were getting ready to tell our families that we were going to have a baby. I was exhausted and starting to not fit in my pants anymore. That feels like so long ago, yet the pregnancy seemed to go so fast, and Liv’s little life has been going so fast! Anyway, this has been a beautiful year. Here’s some of what I’m most thankful for this year:

I’m thankful for: The opportunity to stay home with my daughter. I will never forget my last drive home from work, review here. This opportunity leads me to being thankful for:

My husband. At first I felt like he was my new boss. I realized I’ve had a boss since I was 14, so I naturally felt like I needed one. I am getting over that and am SO thankful for Craig’s leadership and support of us choosing to keep me home.

My daughter. She gives me so much joy. Sure, we have our testy times, but I smile so much more than ever these days. “…[children] and they will bring you the delights you desire.” Proverbs 29:17 (I must say, that this is preceded by the words “Discipline your”)

I’m thankful for: The lessons I’m learning from being a mother:

What it is like to unconditionally love / be loved. I mentioned this earlier on this blog too, here. I will always, no matter what, love this little girl. And that helps me understand how God can love me.

How selfish I am. “I know you want my attention, but just a second, I’m _______.” I hate when this thought comes to my head.

How capable I am to do things I don’t have any experience with – with God’s help. I was afraid to have a daughter, I still am not sure how that’s all going to work out, but I’m seeing God help me out already, so I know it will be okay.

I’m thankful for: My home community:

Their friendship in this new (after 2 years, is it still “new”) area.

Their prayers and support in this new adventure of parenting and all that it brings. Thanks friends!

Of course there are so many more things, friends, family, health, the mild winter (so far!), my salvation and God’s mercy, etc, etc, etc!

One thought on “what I’m most thankful for this year

Leave a Reply

