My Mother-in-law’s Coffee Cake

Standard

Tonight we are on the schedule to bring a snack to our Home Community (connection group, small group, life group, bible study, etc) So I decided to make coffee cake instead of my usual boxed brownies. My mother-in-law has a great and simple and yummy coffee cake recipe. I decided to make one double batch and one single batch. On Monday, I made a beef roast for a family in our church and then we had frozen pizza ourselves that night and I felt bad for my husband. I know he really likes this coffee cake, so I thought I’d make us one for home this time. :) So here it is! Enjoy!

First, wrap your baby up so she can help sleep:

Then turn on some tunes:

Okay, now you’re ready!

INGREDIENTS:
1 1/2 cups Flour
1 cup White Sugar
2 tsp. Baking Powder
1/4 tsp. Salt
1 Egg Plus enough Milk to make 1 cup liquid

Topping:
1/2 cup Brown Sugar
1 tsp. Cinnamon

Drizzle:
4 Tbsp. Melted Butter

1. Mix dry ingredients with a fork.

2 & 3. Add milk/egg mixture and mix.

4. Pour into 9×9 greased pan (double recipe for 9×13)

5. Bake at 350 until middle doesn’t wiggle… takes somewhere from 25-45 minutes or so.

6 & 7. Mix topping ingredients and place on top

8 & 9. Melt butter and drizzle on top

Best served warm!

Like I said, I made a double for the group. It took 30 minutes in my oven to not wiggle in the middle. The small pan took 25 minutes to not wiggle.

*UPDATE 8/30* I found out that the recipe I had was a little off. The brown sugar/cinnamon topping is supposed to get put on the top of the batter BEFORE baking and then the butter drizzle happens after baking. But, I did it the other way and it turned out just fine, but I think today I’ll try it the correct way. I’ll let you know how it changes! Thanks!

One thought on “My Mother-in-law’s Coffee Cake

Leave a Reply

